Unapologetically You.

Two days ago, I decided that I was sick of my plain-Jane hair and that I needed a serious makeover. So I did it up in tight little braids that gave me a horrible headache. My Mom, however, found it extremely hilarious. She told me that I should stop trying to look like someone I’m not and that I should love myself the way I am. It made sense. Why was I doing something so uncomfortable just to look different? Why couldn’t I like myself for who I am?

The answer to my question came to me, while I was scrolling down my Facebook news feed, in the form of a status update by one of my acquaintances from college, Yashasvi Dayal. He wrote:

“I am afraid to express my thoughts and emotions to anyone. But, I am sure I am not the only one. Most of us are like that.
The reason being, we become vulnerable when we express ourselves to others. We also have a great fear of rejection.

It is time to change. Let’s become vulnerable. Let’s get rejected a couple of times. What shame?”

its-ok-to-feel-adieu-darling.gif

Let’s face it. Being emotionally vulnerable is immediately associated with being weak. It’s a MYTH, people! If you are someone who thinks that emotions are a sign of weakness, you should know this- emotions show how strong you are and how strong you have been. It shows that you are human- not a vegetable. Let’s not be so emotionally guarded all the time. The more that we hide our emotions, the more that they eat away at our insides. So what if a few rejections come our way? J.K.Rowling faced twelve! If she had given up, there would have been no Harry Potter. Remember that!

Yashasvi’s status went on to read:

“The only way to do this is to ACCEPT YOURSELF.
Acceptance of your past.
Acceptance of your likes and dislikes.
Acceptance of the way you look.
Acceptance of the way you sing and dance.
ACCEPTANCE OF EACH AND EVERYTHING ABOUT YOURSELF.

This answers one more BIG question, HOW DO I LOVE MYSELF?
It is only when you accept everything about yourself, you love yourself.”

c0ce2ffeba05368bff48d3a7d532eb92

And there it was, the answer that I had been looking for- Be comfortable in your skin and accept your flaws. There is no shame in being who you are. The reason why we’re all so physically different from one another is that we’re supposed to be unique and unapologetically ourselves. Maybe it’s time that  we stopped pitying ourselves because we couldn’t look as good as some model. Stop starving yourself to lose weight, stop putting your hair and skin through some twisted, chemical routine because you want them to look flawless, stop trying to fit into clothes that you’re not comfortable in. Just stop!

Accept yourself, improve yourself and be a better version of yourself. Don’t let the Muggles get you down!

Cheerio! Xx



Hey, guys! I hope you liked my article and if you know someone who needs this today, spread the love! Also, tell me what you think of it in the comments below. You can also contact me on my Facebook, Twitter and Instagram-links to which are given on my Home page (or scroll down). I would love to hear from you!

Yours truly,

The Shubhster.




 

2 thoughts on “Unapologetically You.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

