Holding On And Letting Go.

Do you know what I absolutely hate about the times we live in? It’s the fact that the popularity and worth of a person is measured by the amount of ‘friends‘ they have. Honestly, guys! What you need is a reality check.

Not everyone you hang out with is your friend. A friend is a person who accepts you for the total mess of a person that you actually are. A friend will tell you things the way they are, to your face, and not behind your back. A friend is a person who values you for who you are. A friend is one who will go to the ends of the earth for you when you need them, without asking too many questions or complaining- because, let’s face it, you’d do the same for them.

Recent events at home (details kept private because of obvious reasons) have made me rethink about my definition of the word ‘friend’. I am so thankful to have all the people who care about me, around me, calling me, texting me just to see how I’m holding up. Now those are the people that I would call my friends. So, here’s a shout-out to every single person who has been here for me, in the past few days- words cannot express how thankful I am for all the support.

“I think if I’ve learned anything about friendship, it’s to hang in, stay connected, fight for them, and let them fight for you. Friends are part of the glue that holds life and faith together. Powerful stuff.”
― Jon Katz

giphy (1).gif

I was forced to ask myself a question- would I keep crossing oceans for the people I care about without expecting anything in return? The answer is yes, I would. Not because it’s the right thing to do, but because what goes around, comes around. Maybe not immediately, but definitely. All that talk about the world being round and ‘what-you-give-is-what-you-get‘? It’s true.

But one should understand when to let go. Giving  up on a person does not make you evil, it makes you a person who was simply too tired of being hurt all the time. It may sound as though I’m contradicting my own point, but I’m really not, if you look at it closely.

Crossing oceans for the people you love will most definitely come back to you- if not in the foreseeable future, then maybe later. But it will. Do it if it really makes you happy.

Hurting constantly, on the other hand, and still holding on? You’re only hurting yourself.

“You will find that it is necessary to let things go; simply for the reason that they are heavy. So let them go, let go of them. I tie no weights to my ankles.”
― C. JoyBell C.

tumblr_n0u4oc36sv1rijbg1o1_500

There are times when you have to put yourself first. Please understand that. It doesn’t make you selfish. In fact, putting yourself first every once in a while doesn’t make you a bad person in any way, let alone selfish! It just means that you need some time for yourself- and that is completely okay!

So don’t worry about people judging you because you put yourself first that one time! It’s human nature to hit the Delete button on the ‘Good Deeds‘ folder when you make one, tiny mistake. Mistakes are what build people- if you learn from them. Remember- you’re not a game that can be restarted when you feel like you’re going to lose, you’re a human being. Hold on to what matters and let go of what’s stopping you from taking on the world!

Cheerio!Xx

 


Hey, guys! If you liked this post, do spread the love and let me know in the comments! I would definitely like your opinions. Also, you can contact me on my Facebook, Twitter and Instagram- links to which have been given on my Homepage. I’ll look forward to hearing from all of you!

Yours truly, 

The Shubhster.


 

7 thoughts on “Holding On And Letting Go.

Add yours

  1. I have no so called friends and I’m very happy! Just 2 or 3 people who care for me deeply and I’d take a bullet for them!
    Technically speaking not a real bullet but I might share my pizza with them! 🍕
    Ps:- I really like pizza!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Perfectly worded. I wrote a post on choosing friends too. I’ve always been extremely picky about who I consider a friend. Quality over quantity may be an overused adage, but that doesn’t make it any less true.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Friendship is something that you should cherish….It doesn’t matter how many friends you have in your life… it’s to enjoy being with them… unconditional.

    Good one Shubhi…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

