Take Your Mind Off Of It.

So, my exams are going on. Which means, I’m functioning on less than a total of 10 hours of sleep in the past 4 days. And frankly, this is so damn stressful because once you start pulling all-nighters continuously, you can’t have an early night anymore. And no matter how hard you try, it takes forever to get your sleep-cycle back to normal.

So, this happened to me last night. I closed my books and promised myself that I’d turn in early, because I deserved some good sleep after all those all-nighters. Afternoon naps just don’t cut it! Instead, I found myself wide awake till around 02:00 A.M. trying really hard to sleep. Before I knew it, it was 04:00 A.M., and I had to get back to studying. After one hour of studying, I decided that I was done with it and went back to sleep.

Long story short, I completely crushed my exam today, and I owe it to that one extra hour of sleep and the peppy music that distracted me on my way to college.

tumblr_mum6tw2UIg1ruvoa1o1_500.gif

There’s this pattern that I have noticed- every time I get stressed over an exam or any other thing, the chances that I’m going to screw up are 90%. Maybe it’s just me, I don’t know if you guys go through this too, but to me, having a clear head before an exam is just as important as being prepared for it.

Now, some of you might say that stress is good because it pushes people to achieve difficult results. But I beg to differ, and it may be because a little distraction works for me every time. It’s like I fool my brain into thinking that I’m not worried about whatever is going to happen next. I just go with it.

So, here it is! Stop beating yourself up over something that you have no control over. Exams can be very stressful (this is me talking from a general point of view. I’ve never been stressed during exams, but I’ve seen people crack under pressure), but it doesn’t mean you have to let it take a toll on you.

“I promise you nothing is as chaotic as it seems. Nothing is worth diminishing your health. Nothing is worth poisoning yourself into stress, anxiety, and fear.”
― Steve Maraboli, Unapologetically You: Reflections on Life and the Human Experience

Okay-Relax-Hermione-Granger-Gif-In-Harry-Potter.gif

I know that you might feel like you’re not done preparing yet, but it’s all in your head- unless you’ve really not touched your books! Having a clear head before the exam starts is very necessary to avoid tension- eventually making you forget that answer you put your heart and soul into preparing!

It then goes like a domino-effect; once we get tensed about the one answer we’ve messed up, it keeps snowballing until you mess up the rest of the answers on your answer sheet. Y’all need to take a chill-pill for a while and not let stress monkey around inside your heads. Your brain already has too much to think about and obsess over- do you really want stress to join the party, too?

Distract yourself for a little while before the exam starts. My go-to distraction is the peppy playlist full of songs with really good beats. The second distraction on my go-to list are my friends- even if we’re just going over what we have studied, or explaining some concept to each other, it serves as a distraction for me and I really think it helps me take my mind off of things for a while.

“No beating yourself up. That’s not allowed. Be patient with yourself.”
― Holly Mosier

1419267410-harry-ron-hermione.gif

So get yourself to relax for a while, you guys! Don’t force yourself to cram everything inside your brain, all at once. Cramming never helped anybody. You tend to confuse concepts when you do so.

And to everyone who has exams going on/ coming up, all the very best! 

Cheerio! Xx

 


Hey, guys! If you liked my post and can relate to it, do show it some love by hitting that share button! Also, leave me comments below to let me know what you feel. You can also contact me on my Facebook, Twitter and Instagram- the links to which are given on my Homepage! I’ll look forward to hearing from all of you!

Yours truly,

The Shubhster.



 

2 thoughts on “Take Your Mind Off Of It.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

