Baby Steps, Baby!

Dear Diary,

So I have decided to embrace my passion for writing. I have finally decided to take up Literature and not Engineering as my major. Why? Because it’s what I’m good at. It’s what I have always been drawn to and it’s what will keep drawing me to itself. But do you know what the scariest part of it is? 

I don’t know how to go about it. I don’t have the slightest clue what I’d do about it. Okay, so I’ll send out applications to different colleges, but what do I do after that? Gods, I’m so confused…

I remember writing down something like this two years ago, when I decided to follow my dreams. Deciding to walk on the path I’d chosen wasn’t the scary part. I was clueless. I had no idea what I’d do with my life. At one point, I even wondered if it was worth all of the trouble. But once I started taking steps towards my dream, everything started looking much clearer than it was before.

“Sometimes you don’t know when you’re taking the first step through a door until you’re already inside.”
― Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are

tumblr_nifhvawMSY1tq4of6o1_500.gif

This explains so much. One of the most difficult things in life is not taking a decision- it’s taking a step towards acting according to your decision. We either have no clue how to go about it, or we get second thoughts. Everything looks scary as hell, but a few steps in, things start looking up.

Now, remember that things won’t sort themselves out if you don’t get your butts off of your couches! If you want something, you have to work to achieve it- yes, it sounds cliché, but it’s true. Honey, it’s 2017- things don’t happen at the swish of a wand! Things don’t magically happen- they never did. If you want to go the distance, you have to start by taking a step.

It all starts when you take your first step. That’s where your entire journey begins. Don’t worry about being lost. Everyone has been given different roads to walk on; no two roads are the same.That moment when you take a step decides the path for you.

“Doesn’t matter if you can dream it or not, all that matters is if you can begin it or not? Take that first step.”
― Vikram Verma, Corpkshetra

giphy.gif

It doesn’t always seem easy, but the further you go down this path, the easier it gets. Start by taking a step at a time- it doesn’t always have to be a huge step. Remember when you were a toddler and you were trying to walk? You started by holding on to something for support. You fell down a lot of times, but you didn’t give up then, so why give up now?

Put on your high heels/ sneakers/ trainers, whatever it is that you prefer and go take that step because you never know where it might lead you. You’re in for one hell of a journey!

Cheerio! Xx

 

 


Hey, there! If you liked my post and think you can relate, spread the love! Leave comments below and let me know your opinions. You can always contact me on my Facebook, Twitter and Instagram- the links to which are given in my homepage. I’ll look forward to hearing from all of you!

Yours truly,

The Shubhster.


 

2 thoughts on “Baby Steps, Baby!

Add yours

  1. Deviating from the well trodden path is often the most difficult thing to do. Kudos for having the courage to do what you want to. It’s only too easy to get caught in the flow, to jump on the bandwagon and do what everyone else is doing. There’s no person who became successful by doing what everyone else did. I too struggled with choosing between the tried and tested and what I wanted. Really helpful for all the people torn between what they want to do and what they’re supposed to do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

