A Walk And Some Talks.

“Dear Diary,

I visited my best friend after a very long time today. I hadn’t realized how much things had changed in our lives since we last met. We walked together for a long time, filling each other in with details that we had missed out on- the sappy, gory details of our lives, stayed up till late and talked about nearly everything under the sun, giggled, laughed, cracked jokes and what not. Although we stayed awake for a very long time, neither of us felt tired or sleepy. We were more than happy to catch up with each other. Pretty much one of the best days I’ve had so far.”

It made me think how talking to someone very close to you acts as an outlet for your bottled-up emotions. Talking about your problems and emotions to someone close is one of the most effective stress-buster. Why, then, are we unable to do so more often? Is it because we feel like we’re annoying them with our own problems? Or is it because we are too scared to let people in?

“I wanted to talk to someone. But who? It’s moments like this, when you need someone the most, that your world seems smallest.”
― Rachel Cohn, Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares

giphy (5).gif

I’m the kind of person who is up for talking even in the dead of the night, if you need me. I believe that talking is very important. I know how important it is because I’ve been the person who would have no one to talk to, in the past- and it hit me hard, because I realized that there are so many others who keep their emotions bottled inside of them just because no one is ready to hear them out.

really hate it when a person is talking excitedly about something and someone asks them to shut up because ‘nobody really cares!’ Don’t do that, you guys. If you have ever done something similar, make sure you apologize for it. When someone gets excited and spills the details to you, they probably respect you. Your opinions mean something to them! They can’t wait to tell you how exciting whatever event took place was. When you abruptly shut them out, they find it harder and harder to open up to the others around them- they feel like they’re just being annoying.

“The more you listen to them, the more important you will make them feel.”
― Roy T. Bennett

gossip-gif

Which is why it is very important to take some time out to go on a walk or just talk with your best friend (or anyone very close to you), every once in a while. It’s not just about the walks, either. Walking is just a way to clear up the mind- which explains why we pace around the room so much when we are trying to arrive at a conclusion about something.

My go-to people are my best friends. Granted- they don’t live anywhere close by. Not even within a road-trip distance. But whenever I feel like ranting, I know that they will make it a point to hear me out, because that’s what they do. They’re my rocks.

You’d be pleasantly surprised how much talking to a person can cheer you up! Personally, I feel that sometimes, talking to my best friend(s) is all the therapy I’ll ever need. It’s either that, or writing down whatever I am going through in a fiercely guarded diary.

“The only friend to walk with is one who so exactly shares your taste for each mood of the countryside that a glance, a halt, or at most a nudge, is enough to assure us that the pleasure is shared.”
― C.S. Lewis, Surprised by Joy: The Shape of My Early Life

giphy (6).gif

Remember that being vocal with the people you love is always better than shutting them out of your life. Sometimes, you might end up finding the answers to your own questions when you talk about it to people you are close to. I’m not even kidding when I say that talking things out lifts a huge burden off you.

So, when you feel that you need someone to talk to, whip out that phone you’re so attached to and give your best friend a call- or leave a text, whatever. Go out on a walk. Or call them and talk, talk and talk until you feel better. Chances are, talking to your friend is the only outlet you ever need!

Cheerio! Xx

 


Hey guys! If you liked my post and think you can relate to it, spread the love! Also, comment below and let me know what you feel, because your opinions mean a lot to me!

Yours truly,

The Shubhster.


 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

