Hello, 2017!

“Dear Diary,

I had an amazing end to 2016! It was my very own happy ending. Sure, I didn’t get kissed at midnight or something, but I realized that so many things had fallen into place. Instead of ranting about what I had lost in 2016, I decided to be thankful for whatever I have gained. Also, there is a big, fat bucket list waiting to be completed for this year! I can’t tell you how excited I am! Well, I don’t want to jinx it, though.”

We all waited for 2016 to die and welcomed 2017 hoping that it is going to bring all sorts of good luck because 2016 had caused enough damage to last a lifetime! But did we think about all the good things that happened in our lives? That is the problem with all of us. We are so busy running away from problems that we forget to stop for a second and admire what we have.

I’m not going to deny that 2016 sucked, because it was one of the most horrible years ever. But like my best friend told me, it is just a variation in the calendar. It is up to us to determine how our day goes. For someone with a positive attitude, any other day is a good day. For someone who is pessimistic about everything and everyone, every day is going to be a battle. It is all in the mind.

“Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.”

-Oprah Winfrey

image

Look into the mirror, tell yourself that this day is going to be your day and you are going to take it by storm. You are the secret to your own success. If you don’t believe in something enough, you can never achieve it. How do you know how close you were to your goal when you gave up and came crashing down on your knees, accepting your defeat? Just imagine what could have happened if you had held on to hope a little longer.

When people ask me why I remain optimistic even when I know that things are not the way I want them to be, I tell them that dark days are just passing clouds. If I gave up, I would lose all the progress I had made and go back to square one. There is always hope. We only have to believe in it. Because, nothing is ever possible if we don’t believe.

“The surest way to make your dreams come true is to live them.”

-Roy.T.Bennet


So, this year, I havent taken any silly New Year’s resolutions because I know that I’m not going to be able to stick to them anyway. But I have made myself a small bucket list of things to do before the year ends. My bucket list is tiny and has only around 10 things to be checked. But in my opinion, it is better to have a bucket list than to take up resolutions that I would never stick to.

I have decided to go with the flow this year instead of going against it. Anything and everything that happens to you, happens for a reason and for good, you might not see it right away, but when you do, you will be thankful for the way things turned out. We cannot always control the situation. Just in that moment, don’t give up. Hold on to hope- that is very important.

“This life is like a roller-coaster; once you are strapped-in and the ride has started, you aren’t getting off.”

-Bryant McGill, Simple Reminders: Inspiration for Living Your Best Life


So stop waiting for the year to be good to you. Ditch that “New Year, New Me,” because you are always going to be the person you are- except for a few changes, maybe. Your year is going to be what you make of it. There is really no use blaming something or the other for a bad year. You path is created according to the choices you make. The path is a spiral. Sometimes, you might come back to the same choice, but you will have a completely different perspective this time. Live, love, learn, grow, believe and never give up.

Have a happy new year, guys. I hope you have an amazing year ahead.

Cheerio! Xx

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

