An Open Letter To My Future Kids.

Hey kids,

I have no idea how to start this letter, because I’m still a teenager who’s on her way to take crazy decisions in life. But I’m also really excited to be writing this because someday (and I mean ages from the day I wrote this), you’re going to read this and say, “Wow, Mum was so crazy!” and laugh. So let’s start this letter thing over; I’m really proud of you, I just don’t say it much because I don’t want you to get a swollen head (I’m obviously kidding; I really am proud!). I love you (already!) more than you can imagine, which is a lot!

Let’s start with the part where I boss you around- am I really that bossy? If at all I order you around, it’s because I don’t want you to make the mistakes I made. But that doesn’t mean that I’ll constantly badger you to do the right things. You, my dear, have the complete freedom to take your own decisions because I trust you enough to let you do that. If at all you fall, I promise you I’ll be there to pull you back up until you’re ready to start getting back up on your own. No one would be as proud of you as I would be when that happens.

mamas-proud-enter-cece-drake

And always know that you can tell me anything, anything at all. Don’t be afraid to tell me; remember that I was a teenager once too, so I’d probably be an expert of sorts regarding the teenage issues (I know that because my Mum and Dad are experts on teenage issues, and it’s scary- accurate how they had the solution to every single one of my teen dramas). I would hate to see the day when you spend the whole night silently crying while I’m sound asleep. You can wake me up and then we can spend the night talking and eating big bowls full of your favourite ice-cream (I bet it’d be chocolate, but no pressure!), until you finally feel better and go back to sleep. You are more important to me than my sleep (and that’s saying a lot because currently, I’m the sleepiest girl on the planet!).

Remember that you’re a unique masterpiece in yourself, and you do not have to pretend to be somebody else. Love yourself, be confident of the amazing person I’m sure you’re going to turn out to be. I won’t force you into anything that you don’t want to follow; you’re free to follow your own dreams and live your life according to your own set of rules (you still have to pay attention to what I say- and eat your veggies, no excuses!)

tumblr_mi08kaam491s2kyfro1_500

I want you to be the kind of person who stands up for what he/she believes in. Don’t be shy either. If you like someone, go tell them. Ask them out. Chances are, they’re waiting for you to come over and talk. But remember this- My son, if you’re reading this, be a gentleman to the girl you date. Treat her with respect and build her up. Treat her no less than you would a queen. Be the man you’d want your daughter or your sister to date someday. Another thing, don’t ever disrespect a woman- be it your friend, your girlfriend, your sister or your teacher. To my daughter, you’re a beautiful young woman, I’m sure. You’re so immensely talented and smart, you don’t have to cry over that one boy who won’t ask you out. Remember that you do not need any kind of validation from any boy, no matter how old you are. You’re a princess in your own right and you’re so, so loved. Don’t be scared of the other girls who try to bully you. People who are jealous of you will try to dull your sparkle; how you still manage to sparkle will be the miracle. No matter what the other girls say, innocence is beautiful. And don’t keep the company of the people who try to make you feel inferior; they’re only trying to drag you down- never allow that!

No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.

-Eleanor Roosevelt

tumblr_m52bfq0ygy1rxnrovo1_500

Love and protect your sibling, because no matter how much you fight with them, you can’t spend a day apart because you’re a package! Because at the end of the when I ask you who broke the jar of cookies, chances are that you might end up defending each other. Also, always learn to take a jump. Don’t wait to live your life. You alone know what is best for you (well, you and I, both!), so don’t let people get in the way of your life.

I’m not going to lecture on how to behave and all that, because I’m sure I wouldn’t suck that bad as a parent. I’m pretty sure of myself that you’re going to be fine young people. I just want you to know that you don’t have to hide anything from me. You have no reason to do so. I’m not going to judge you. Sure, I’d make you sit down and talk to you about it, but I’d never judge you. You’re allowed to make mistakes. I only hope that you learn from them and improve constantly. No one is born perfect and I don’t expect you to be, either. But you’ll always be perfect to me. Also, listen up! No use giving secret coded names to your crushes (been there, done that, hello!). The least I can do is pretend that I didn’t hear anything you said. I can’t help it- I’m your Mom! I just happen to hear things.

tumblr_o2zazwgdl71rt6eoho1_500

Finally, I just want you to know that whatever I do is what I think is best for you. I may go overboard sometimes, and I’m sorry about that. I’m just a little over-protective at times, and that’s probably because you’ll always be a kid to me, no matter how old you are. Dream big, love everyone, don’t be afraid to walk into any situation head-on. Spread your wings and soar high, my little butterfly.

All my love,

Mom. Xx

 

 


Hey guys! If you liked this article, do share it and spread the love. Also comment below and let me know what you think, because your opinions matter a lot!

Cheerio! Xx


 

2 thoughts on “An Open Letter To My Future Kids.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

