I Dared To Follow My Dreams.

“Dear diary,

Mum and Dad tell me that I can write even if I take up science. But I don’t want to do it. I love science, I do! But I do not want to make a career out of it. I want to write. I want to be a writer, travel the world, meet new people- I want to really live my life the way I want to, before it all ends someday. I’m torn between being the good daughter that I’m supposed to be, or live for myself and be happy with life rather than being stuck with a job that doesn’t give me any time for myself. I choose the latter…”

Four years ago, I was given a choice that is probably not given to many youngsters- to choose a stream that would make me rich, or to choose a stream that would make me happy. I was made to choose between engineering and literature. It took me some time to make up my mind, but once I did, there was no turning back! I was ridiculed and judged by many people (‘Oh, she must have scored pretty low,’ or ‘Ha, how’re you planning to make a career out of it?’), but I can’t say I regret it! It has been one of the best decisions I have ever taken, and I’m so very thankful to my parents for actually supporting me through all  of it.

14976133_575567799302373_832819848_o.png

People kept telling me that I wouldn’t earn as much; I would have to struggle a lot. Sure, but what path doesn’t take struggle, to be honest? Shortcuts don’t take struggle. But I was going to do this the right way- from the scratch. I made up my mind that I would follow my dreams, and face whatever challenges came along the way! After all,  it was time to do something I was actually good at- writing. I worked on a simple principle- do what you love and excel in what you do, and success will follow. Maybe seeing this message pop-up on several occasions was a signal that I should start following my dream already.

“Don’t you find it odd,” she continued, “that when you’re a kid, everyone, all the world, encourages you to follow your dreams. But when you’re older, somehow they act offended if you even try.”
― Ethan Hawke, The Hottest State.

I want to tell all of you lovely readers that if you have given up on something that you dearly love, go ahead and do it again. Because when you do something that you love, work doesn’t feel like work at all. After four years of having followed my dreams, I can proudly tell you all that I’ve never once felt as though I am saturated by work or studies (and I swear, I’m not joking when I tell you that I find myself enjoying all the time).

A little birdie once told me that I should live my dreams for myself, no matter what people say! Walking down the path you choose can be one of the best things in life! Sure, you might have to face a little bit of struggle, but in the end, I assure you, it’s all rainbows, unicorns and pixie-dust!

Dare to follow your dreams! Trust me, when you look back on your journey towards your goal, you’ll have a huge smile and zero regrets! After all, how will you know if you don’t try?

“Love what you do and do what you love. Don’t listen to anyone else who tells you not to do it. You do what you want, what you love. Imagination should be the center of your life.”

Comment below and let me know what following your dreams means to you! I would love to hear from all of you! Share, if you are or know a person who would love to follow their dreams!

Cheerio! Xx

8 thoughts on “I Dared To Follow My Dreams.

Add yours

  1. Life’s decisions about what we want to do with our time on this earth, as short as it is, may come easy or it may come after endless hours, days, months and even years of laboring over the pros and cons and the ‘right’ decision for yourself.

    Throw in the mix the elements of external pressure (trying to please others), the uncertainty, the anxiety and yes…even the self-doubt; what it all comes down to as you walk through life looking back at your decisions is that unless you have made those decisions with free conscience and free will there will always be a shadow of doubt lingering over your shoulder.

    I was torn going into college; is this the kind of profession I want to dedicate a lifetime to? Am I looking at my future objectively? Am I truly going to do what is best for me or is the underlying curiosity and uncertainty dragging me down into errant decisions that I will regret for the rest of my life.

    Ultimately, while still in college, I switched gears by pulling back and taking a year off to get a better picture of where it was I wanted to be five years hence. I was still struggling four years down the road however moving forward into a profession which seemed a natural progression for me. That profession demanded exhaustive work schedules twice what the vast majority would ever consider or be willing to do. It was dangerous work. The pressure was relentless. I would continue on that path for a decade and more, a path like a runaway train that was leaving wreckage in its wake; a marriage and family life in ruins.

    The foregoing is all a woeful story yet goes back to making choices and decisions. There are many career paths in this day which reap the kind of carnage I went through and people push themselves perilously close to the edge because of what…guilt, obligation, dedication, no pain no gain?

    At that point in my life I did a full STOP and reassessed where my life was at, what got left behind battered and bruised and what I wanted for my life moving forward. I am now on a journey loving so much about what I do. There are peaks and valleys, struggles and sacrifices yet NOW I am doing what I want and love to do. I remarried and vowed never to ruin my second marriage, that life is indeed short and to be cherished always. Discover your gift and your purpose and pursue it with all your heart. In the end you still have to look at yourself in the mirror as you rise every morning, smile and like the reflection you see looking back.

    Very few people in this life live it without the fear and anxiety of pleasing someone, or everyone else. Well past middle age, I am finally beginning to feel good about getting up every day and going out to meet the world; a world I envision myself being a part of with love, with purpose and the satisfaction of knowing that I am living it with a free and clear conscience and making a difference.

    Choose your path well. You have only one life to live.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

