What If I Told You That I Loved You?

Ah, the million dollar question! *Instant panic attacks*

To be honest, I’ve never come across this question. Granted- I’m still a kid; and this should be the last thing on my mind. But holding on to the mere idea of ‘Love’ has become difficult in this age of casual relationships and hook- ups. Also, from what I’ve learnt and come across, people are losing their hopes really quickly. It takes only a few seconds and a huge amount of pain to put up emotional barriers all around ourselves. But is turning away from any kind of feelings at all, worth it? Are we not settling for non- emotional, meaningless flings when we can actually have something that gives us a warm, fuzzy feeling of security?

I’m “old- school” and a “hopeless romantic,” according to what 75% of my friends circle tells me. Well, here’s the real question- what is so wrong with being “old- school”?  Yes, I believe in fairy- tales, pixie- dust, picnic baskets, the kind of relationship where you discover a whole new side of yourself rather than going giddy over some “butterflies in your tummy.” I don’t believe in some sappy ‘Prince on a white horse’ tale; what I believe in is a gentleman, who knows how to treat the girl “like a queen.” And even if such people do exist, they’re vanishing at a rate faster than the depleting ozone layer! (A little bit of exaggeration never killed anybody!)

So, what if I told you that I loved you? Or, what if someone told you that they loved you? How would you normally react? Face it, your reaction would depend upon the relationship you have with the person in question. But at least 60% of the people out there these days are afraid of saying ‘I love you’ merely out of the fear of commitment, fear of rejection, fear of losing the person or just because they’re too- cool- to- be- sappy!

473f6b307d2953fc580627dcf37fceaa.gif

Are we giving up on love because of certain setbacks? Are we settling for something with no meaning and no emotions solely to avoid getting hurt? If so, then we need to sort out our priorities big time! Emotions are human after all; everyone is allowed to feel, cry, get over things and move on. So why do we skip a few steps?  Is shallow really the new deep? Or have we just started setting the bars lower and lower for ourselves?

Maybe it is time that we stopped shutting people out and let them know what we actually feel. Being afraid of the consequences will only increase our fear for the unknown. What do we have to lose? Contrary to popular belief, the burden off our chests is the only thing we would lose if we started speaking up. Either that, or we would get what we want. I know, speaking up and being vocal about our emotions is not easy at all. But how do we ever find out if we never give it a try?

“The emotion that can break your heart is sometimes the very one that heals it”                        -Nicholas Sparks, ‘At First Sight’

Comment below and let me know what your opinions on this topic are!

Cheerio! Xx

6 thoughts on “What If I Told You That I Loved You?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

